Westville officials sworn in

Kim Luttrell


Independent News

Westville village clerk Vickie Slavik recently swore in the four village officials that were reelected in April’s consolidated general election.

Slavik swore in Mike Weese to another four-year term as mayor.  Slavik also gave the oath of office to Mark Dunham, Don Hall and Dena Jenkins to four-year terms as village trustees.  

Weese made the following reappointments as is required under state statute:  Vickie Slavik, village clerk; David Booe, police chief; Mike Larson, village treasurer; Jeff Slavik, zoning administrator; Paul Miller, streets and alley superintendent and Mike Bennett as gas and water superintendent.  All of the appointments were approved by the council.

Trustees decided that village employees in the streets and alley department as well as the gas and water department would received their annual clothing allowance in three separate allotments of $100 each.

The village has traditionally gave those employees a $300 per year clothing allowance in a lump sum amount but will now spread that cost out over the course of a year.  The village will now give those employees an allotment of $100 every four months.

The village council met in special session at 6:30 p.m. May 11 at the municipal building to approve the 2017-2018 village budget and to open bids for the village-owned lot at 1603 Danville Street.

The Westville village council will next meet in regular session at 7 p.m. May 23 at the municipal building.



The Independent News embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments