Georgetown Historical Society keeps busy

by Rose Hawkins
The Independent News

Georgetown Historical Society is starting the New Year off with electing officers for the new Board of Directors.

For the year of 2019, the new board will be: President: Lisa Menkhaus; Vice President: Janet Thompson; Secretary: Betty Manning; Treasurer: Brenda Lierman. Board members at large are: Cliff Sawyer, Cindi Learnard, Joel Taylor, Tawna Bartley, and Jim Blue.

Starting Thursday, February 6 the open hours of the Historic House will resume. Thursdays 2-6 pm and Sundays 2 to 4 pm.  Come see all of the historic items accumulated that tell of the Georgetown heritage. 

On February 8, there will be a Chili Supper from 5 - 7 pm at the Georgetown Ridge Farm High School cafeteria immediately before the basketball game with Armstrong/Potomac High School.  Plenty of space to park. Free Will offering.

February 11 at 6:30 pm will be the next membership meeting at the Senior Center room at the Georgetown Public Library. The Program will be on “Georgetown Settler’s Genealogy”. 

Membership dues reminders will be sent in the near future.

All current residents of Georgetown area and those who grew up in Georgetown area are invited to join the Historical Society. Those who are interested are encourage to visit the Historic House when it is open, or attend one of the meetings.

Annual Membership dues are $15 for a single membership, $20 for family membership, and $25 for a business membership. 

Checks  can be made out to the Georgetown Historical Society, and they can be mailed to PO Box 14, Georgetown, IL 61846, or handed to a board member.


Comments for this post are inactive.